Red Lentils Soup with Fenugreek and Garlic in 15 mins!

One of the quickest soups with tons of flavour. I boiled a cup of red lentils in water with a teaspoon of turmeric powder. Whilst this was boiling, I finely chopped half an onion, four cloves of garlic and a little piece of ginger. Heated a small pan with a tbsp of oil and a tsp of roasted cumin seeds, added the chopped onions, garlic and ginger. Once these were light golden in colour, added a tbsp of tomato paste as well as a large table spoon of water to cool down the cooking.

Add a couple of tablespoons of dried fenugreek leaves, salt and pepper directly into the boiling lentils along with a tsp of garam masala. Stir in the onion mixture as soon as that is ready; cover and let the soup cook for about 5 minutes or until the lentils are done. For a thicker texture, using a potato masher, lightly mash the lentils.

I like my lentil soup with a couple of tablespoons of greek yogurt but my husband prefers a large knob of butter on top. (as shown in picture).

Simple and delicious and I have lots left over for tomorrow when I will turn this soup into something else! What you say? Lets wait and see what tomorrow brings 😉 Lentils are amazing and can be transformed into a number of things. I love leftover lentils as I can use them in so many different ways. They are even delicious in a toasted sandwich!

About Jakey

I am 8 years old, studying Grade 4 this summer and I love Science. I will be starting Grade 5 this Fall when I return to School after summer. I love playing games on my Wii, and my favourite ones are Kirby returns to dreamland, Mario Kart Wii and Mario Galaxy 2. View all posts by Jakey

Leave a comment